The Social History Society is a democratic association. SHS members elect which amongst them should serve as Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Communications Officer and as ordinary members of the executive committee. That committee appoints the honorary president and vice-presidents as well as a number of other roles.

If you are interested in standing for the committee or one of the officer roles, please see our constitution and contact our Administrative Secretary at

Naomi Tadmor


Pat Thane

Honorary President

Asa Briggs, 1921-2016

Founding President

Eric Evans, 1945-2022

Honorary Vice-President

Catherine Hall

Honorary Vice-President

Penny Summerfield

Honorary Vice-President

Keith Wrightson

Honorary Vice-President

Rachel Bright


Jenni Hyde

Honorary Secretary

Henry Irving

Communications Officer

Janet Weston


Louis Pulford

Administrative Secretary

Louise Bell

PG Representative, 2022-2024

Georgina Brewis

Committee Member, 2021-24

Pamela Cox

Former Chair

Barbara Crosbie

Committee Member, 2023-2026

Peter Edwards

Committee Member, 2023-2026

Jennifer Evans

Committee Member, 2022-25

David Hitchcock

Committee Member, 2021-24

Corinna Peniston-Bird

Committee Member, 2021-24

June Purvis

Committee Member, 2023-2026

Mark Roodhouse

Representative to EHS

Jonathan Saha

Committee Member, 2020-2023

Phillipp Schofield

Economic History Society Representative

Amy Stanning

PG Representative, 2023-2025

Brodie Waddell

CaSH Representative