The Social History Society’s Book Prize recognises innovative scholarship the fields of social and cultural history.

It is awarded by a panel of judges, who look for the best original work of historical research published in the preceding calendar year. The only stipulations are that the book must be written in English, by a scholar normally resident in the UK, and must be at least the author’s second history book. Books are nominated by publishers.



2020 Prize

Now in its third year, we are very happy to announce that we are once again accepting nominations for the Social History Book Prize. To be eligible for consideration for the prize, the book must have been published in English during the calendar year 2018 (and dated 2018), by a scholar or up to three scholars collaborating as co-authors, and normally resident in the United Kingdom. The deadline for receipt of nominations is 15 November 2019.

You can find the Call for Nominations here


2019 Prize

WINNER: Hannah Barker for Family & Business during the Industrial Revolution (Oxford University Press, 2017)

RUNNER UP: Sabine Lee for Children Born of War in the Twentieth Century (Manchester University Press, 2017)

Find out more about the 2019 winners here


2018 Prize

WINNER: Sasha Handley for Sleep in Early Modern England (Yale University Press, 2016)

RUNNER UP: Jon Stobart and Mark Rothery for Consumption and the Country House by (Oxford University Press, 2016)

Find out more about the inaugural winners here