The Pamela Cox Public History Prize recognises activities that enhance public understanding of social and cultural history. It has been established as a mark of gratitude to Professor Pamela Cox, who was tireless in efforts to open dialogue with different audiences while chair of the Social History Society.

The prize is awarded to a postgraduate student or an early career researcher who can demonstrate excellence in taking their research beyond the academy.

It provides one year’s free membership of the SHS, a full bursary to attend our annual conference and a showcase of their work on our Community Exchange.

There are no restrictions on the format of activity undertaken: it could include work with museums and heritage organisations, co-production with community groups, the creation of online resources, media appearances, contributions to public policy, arts based projects or the organisation of events designed for non-academic audiences. However, the activity must be able to demonstrate excellence and initiative on behalf the nominee.

We will accept nominations from individual PGR/ECRs, their supervisors, or any member of the Social History Society. Anyone wishing to nominate will be required to complete a nomination form providing details to verify the activities described. Nominations for the 2020 prize close on 1 February.

The nominations will be judged by the Social History Society committee.

The award is open to all postgraduate research students currently registered at a UK HEI and post-docs within one year of their viva. The person nominated does not need to be a current member of the Society.

Download the nomination form

The completed nomination form should be emailed to our Honorary Secretary, Gerorgina Brewis, at