New SHS committee member and officers

At our AGM, during our annual conference, we announced the results of elections for our committee and a number of officer posts.

We are pleased to announce that Andrew Walker was re-elected to the Social History Society executive committee and Corinna Peniston-Bird (pictured second from left) was elected to join the committee. Corinna is a social and cultural historian of modern Britain and Austria at Lancaster University, with a particular interest in gender, non-textual sources and the spatial turn.

Georgina Brewis (pictured left) was elected to take over from Jennifer Evans as the Social History Society’s Honorary Secretary. Georgina is a historian of youth, education and voluntary action at UCL’s Institute of Education. She is Director of a British Academy infrastructure project working with voluntary organisations on issues of archives and records.

Henry Irving (pictured right) was elected to take over from George Campbell Gosling as the Social History Society’s Communications Officer. Henry’s public history research at Leeds Beckett University focuses on Britain during the Second World War, including the social history of wartime recycling. He is sure to bring to the role his commitment to bringing together academic historians with those working outside of HE, especially those in heritage sector.

Laura Sefton (pictured second from right) was elected to take over from Matthew Pawelski as postgraduate representative, along with Cara Dobbing on the Social History Society’s executive committee. Laura is currently a fourth-year part-time PhD researcher in history at the University of Birmingham, working on the social and cultural history of children’s everyday experiences with money in twentieth century Britain. She has recently started blogging about the connections between academia and mental health at

All those standing down have made a huge and much appreciated contribution, but I think you’ll agree the future looks bright.