Committee Elections

The Social History Society proudly run by its members. Our elected committee help to organise our annual conference, shape our funding schemes and determine our approach on a range of other issues.

We are delighted to announce the results of this year’s committee elections.

Professor Naomi Tadmor has been re-elected as Chair for a second term. Naomi is a distinguished early modernist and was instrumental in launching the SHS book prize in 2017. As Chair, Naomi has helped steer the SHS through the coronavirus pandemic and we hope that her second term will be less dramatic.

Rachel Bright has been elected as Treasurer. Rachel is a Senior Lecturer in Imperial and Global History at Keele University and has been an SHS committee member since 2018. She successfully organised the 2018 SHS conference at Keele and has co-convened the ‘Deviance’: Inclusion and Exclusion strand at conferences since 2016.

Jennifer Evans has been elected as Committee Member. She is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Hertfordshire and has served the SHS as both Honorary Secretary and Treasurer. In the latter role, she oversaw the introduction of a new electronic banking system, making us less reliant on cheques!

Louise Bell has been elected as Postgraduate Representative. Louise is a second year PhD collaborate doctoral partnership student working at the University of Leeds and The National Archives. She has been involved with the SHS since 2019, presenting at the conferences and as Community Exchange editor.