Book Prize

The Social History Society’s Book Prize recognises innovative scholarship in our discipline.

The prize is awarded by an independent panel of judges who look for the best original work of social and cultural history. The only stipulations are that the book must be written in English, by a scholar normally resident in the UK, and must be at least the author’s second history book. This year’s judging panel is chaired by Professor Pat Thane, Honorary President of the SHS and Fellow of the British Academy.

The prize is awarded to books published in the calendar year preceding nomination. Books nomination in 2020 must have been published and dated 2019.

Publishers should nominate books using the form attached to the call for nominations. We have written to fifty-six presses encouraging nominations, but please do encourage your publisher if you have written an eligible book and would like to be considered.

The 2020 prize was won by Professor Khaled Fahmy, for his book In Quest of Justice: Islamic Law and Forensic Medicine in Modern Egypt (University of California Press, 2018). You can watch his interview with Professor Naomi Tadmor here.

The full details, alongside a list of all previous winners and runners up, can be found on our Book Prize page. The deadline for nominations is 15 October 2020.